Home     Shop     Blog     Forum     Gallery       Tutorials     Contact Us      
Forum :: Oscraps.com Facebook Twitter


Go Back   Forum :: Oscraps.com > :: Resources :: > Need Help? Ask here!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Need Help? Ask here! Ever wonder how someone did what they did? Check here, if it's not here, ask!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-09-2020, 03:37 PM
wombat146's Avatar
wombat146 wombat146 is offline
..aka Ona & lovin' the O


Ozone's Official Praise Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23,490
Default

Hi Jayne

For the O gallery, the size ("dimensions") will appear the same in the gallery, whether it is a 600x600 or 1000x1000......... the important bit is the actual file size ("weight"), which should be under 250kb.
__________________
ONA | MY GALLERY: LINK

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-2020, 04:09 PM
FloridaGranny's Avatar
FloridaGranny FloridaGranny is offline
Outta This World!
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 977
Default

I just had the re-size problem with my latest layout. Although the original psd file was about the same size as most of my layouts, and I followed the same steps as I've been doing for all my other Oscraps layouts, for some reason it just would not go below about 500kb, too large for our gallery. Thanks, Vicki and everyone, for the tips! After flattening the psd file I saved for web, got a message that I would be losing quality, ignored that and saved anyway. It saved as a gif which I was able to convert to a jpeg. Then I was able to reduce the pixels to 72 and the dimensions to 600 px and, this time, all was well. Whew! Interestingly I finished another layout I'd been working on, and this time there was no problem! Who knows why these things happen??? I'm just glad for all the tips you've included here.
Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2020, 05:17 PM
wombat146's Avatar
wombat146 wombat146 is offline
..aka Ona & lovin' the O


Ozone's Official Praise Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FloridaGranny View Post
I just had the re-size problem with my latest layout. Although the original psd file was about the same size as most of my layouts, and I followed the same steps as I've been doing for all my other Oscraps layouts, for some reason it just would not go below about 500kb, too large for our gallery. Thanks, Vicki and everyone, for the tips! After flattening the psd file I saved for web, got a message that I would be losing quality, ignored that and saved anyway. It saved as a gif which I was able to convert to a jpeg. Then I was able to reduce the pixels to 72 and the dimensions to 600 px and, this time, all was well. Whew! Interestingly I finished another layout I'd been working on, and this time there was no problem! Who knows why these things happen??? I'm just glad for all the tips you've included here.
Thanks!!
I have had this happen sometimes over the years that I have been digi scrapping, in various versions of PSE and in Photoshop itself. The majority of these layouts were the times that I used a PSD template file.

Didn't matter that the templates were created by different designers. This happened when I opened the actual PSD template and then saved it with a new name before starting work with it. Whether it was just a glitch with my own program settings I don't know but I have gotten into the routine now of opening a blank 12x12 and then opening the template. In the template file I select all the layers and then copy them across to the new blank file (dragging the layers across). Sounds weird I know but I have been doing this now for around 10.5 years now and haven't had any more problems. !

For the couple of layouts where I wasn't using a template, I copied all the layers from it, into a brand new blank file and saved it and the problem was fixed! Don't ask me why!! lol! Perhaps try that next time it happens and see if that works.
__________________
ONA | MY GALLERY: LINK

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-2020, 05:42 PM
FloridaGranny's Avatar
FloridaGranny FloridaGranny is offline
Outta This World!
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 977
Smile

Thanks, Ona. I'm glad I'm not the only one who has had this happen.
And that's interesting about the templates. This time I didn't use one, but I'll keep it mind for the future. PSE keeps us on our toes, lol.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-10-2020, 08:01 PM
VickiStegall's Avatar
VickiStegall VickiStegall is offline


Ozone's Official Praise Queen
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21,163
Default

I always just copy my finished layout into a new file of only one layer. Resize then save that and don't ever have any issue. Have you tried that?
__________________
~Vicki~

My Gallery :: My Blog

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-10-2020, 08:02 PM
VickiStegall's Avatar
VickiStegall VickiStegall is offline


Ozone's Official Praise Queen
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21,163
Default

Also, I'm happy to help resize these. If you're ever stumped, just email me the .jpg file and I'll resize/save for you. support@oscraps.com
__________________
~Vicki~

My Gallery :: My Blog

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-10-2020, 08:28 PM
FloridaGranny's Avatar
FloridaGranny FloridaGranny is offline
Outta This World!
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 977
Default

Saving into a single layer file, then re-sizing, is what I always do, and this is the first time I've had a problem with the file size not reducing. (I'm blaming gremlins or perhaps the earth being out of orbit, lol). But if it happens again, I will definitely send it to you to try. You are a life-saver, Vicki! Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-11-2020, 06:43 AM
annaaspnes's Avatar
annaaspnes annaaspnes is offline
annaaspnes

Off The Hook
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,243
Default

In the NEW PSCC 2020 File> Save for Web has been removed from the menu

You can still however access it via the shortcut:
CTRL (CMD) + ALT (OPT) + SHIFT + S

Enter your 500 X 500 pixels at 72 DPI in the bottom right of the panel and SAVE.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-11-2020, 08:22 AM
marijke's Avatar
marijke marijke is online now
I love the O!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18,056
Default

I use the save for web ... in my PSCC 2020


File - export - save for web ...
__________________
Marijke ~ I wish my eyes could take photos
my gallery | Facebook | Pinterest
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-11-2020, 03:41 PM
wombat146's Avatar
wombat146 wombat146 is offline
..aka Ona & lovin' the O


Ozone's Official Praise Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by annaaspnes View Post
In the NEW PSCC 2020 File> Save for Web has been removed from the menu

You can still however access it via the shortcut:
CTRL (CMD) + ALT (OPT) + SHIFT + S

Enter your 500 X 500 pixels at 72 DPI in the bottom right of the panel and SAVE.
Hi Anna, I still have that option in PSCC 2020 but it's under the Export option in the File menu, as Marijke mentioned above. Don't know about you but I just hate it Adobe does updates on PSCC!! lol!
__________________
ONA | MY GALLERY: LINK

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005-2018 Oscraps