Home     Shop     Blog     Forum     Gallery       Tutorials     Contact Us      
Forum :: Oscraps.com Facebook Twitter

Go Back   Forum :: Oscraps.com > :: Challenges - Archive :: > Challenges Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 11-01-2013, 04:54 AM
Ozone's Official Oracle

Default Challenge No. 1 - CREATIVE TECHNIQUES November 2013

With the departure of our own dear Ona, I have picked up the reins of the Creative Challenge this month. I’ve never written a tutorial like this before and was always in awe
of Ona’s amazing instructions that worked every time. I’ve tried to do her justice by coming up with a method to correct the colour cast of older pictures. I learned this method
from the mighty Jessica Sprague. This ties in with the Photo Challenge this month which is all about getting the colour cast right before taking the photo! However, with older photos,
both digital and film, sometimes bad cameras, bad processing and indeed age can do terrible things to the look of our pictures.

For this challenge you will need an older colour photo. I have scanned a photo, but this also works well
with early digital photos, especially if taken indoors. These instructions are for Photoshop Elements (V8 - yes, I know, I'm very behind the times), but I guess they should work just fine with later editions of PSE and full blown Photoshop. If you use something different, I'm afraid I can't help, but I'm guessing the principle will be the same whatever software you use.

Now if we’d known about white balance correction back in 1982, and I’d heeded some of my own advice as per this month’s Photo Challenge,
then I might not have ended up with this somewhat harsh fluorescent light! Go and read the Photo Challenge if you haven’t already
done so and you’ll understand what I mean.

Here’s my finished page, capturing a moment in our lives that this photo so evokes.
Sometimes it’s not about the perfect photos.

Here’s some inspiration from the Cheery-Os: