Home     Shop     Blog     Forum     Gallery       Tutorials     Contact Us      
Forum :: Oscraps.com Facebook Twitter


Go Back   Forum :: Oscraps.com > :: Challenges - Current :: > Challenge Explanation, Rules, and Tracking
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2018, 02:21 AM
SharLamb's Avatar
SharLamb SharLamb is offline
Sharron
Ozone's Official Oracle
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 14,129
Default Yahoo search engine pre-empts Google Search

All of a sudden every time I do a search, Yahoo takes over. I have Firefox set to use ONLY Google. Don't know how it happened, and when I do a search to find out how to get Google back, the links are impossible to understand, and smack of bugs themselves. It really feels like Yahoo has invaded my computer. Has anyone else had this problem. It happened when I was using a PC, but I had a Windows-expert-friend who figured out how to get things back to normal. He doesn't know Apple products.

I'm using Firefox on an iMac.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
__________________
PSCC on iMac
iPad Pro with Apple Pencil
Camera: iPhone X
My Gallery
Instagram
: lambcrops
My Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2018, 06:08 AM
faerywings's Avatar
faerywings faerywings is offline
The Loopy-O

Ozone's One In A MilliOn
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 46,418
Default

I don't use google search typically, but I did the other day and noticed that it wasn't google results. I didn't think much of it until you posted and tried again. and yup, not google results. So I searched for Yahoo Search and this came up:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1180287

I am going to try this fix now and see what happens.
LMK if this helps.

ETA: I found a SafeLock Search Extension and removed that. Maybe that will help.
ETA2: I just did another google search and it stayed as google.
__________________

~~Chris~~ My Gallery


Last edited by faerywings; 01-01-2018 at 06:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2018, 08:51 AM
SharLamb's Avatar
SharLamb SharLamb is offline
Sharron
Ozone's Official Oracle
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 14,129
Default

Thanks Chris. Will pursue after enjoying some NYD Coffee In Bed!
__________________
PSCC on iMac
iPad Pro with Apple Pencil
Camera: iPhone X
My Gallery
Instagram
: lambcrops
My Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2018, 08:59 AM
Hummie's Avatar
Hummie Hummie is offline
Cheryl
Occasionally passes by
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 119
Default

Glad you figured it out.

Sometimes Yahoo puts things in other software and you have to uncheck the box when installing.
__________________
Cheryl
My Corner Online
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2018, 10:19 AM
SharLamb's Avatar
SharLamb SharLamb is offline
Sharron
Ozone's Official Oracle
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 14,129
Default

Chris, I'm a total non-Geek. I don't know how to do what you suggested. I'm on a Mac if that makes any difference. Thanks.

Update: Sheesh. I don't really even know how I did it, but it was something to do with deleting extension options in the tools/add-ons. Anyway, it SEEMS to be resolved. We shall see.
__________________
PSCC on iMac
iPad Pro with Apple Pencil
Camera: iPhone X
My Gallery
Instagram
: lambcrops
My Facebook

Last edited by SharLamb; 01-01-2018 at 11:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005-2018 Oscraps